512.797.9525

Call 512.797.9525 for GMAT course information. Austin GMAT Review

Resources for GMAT Preparation and MBA Admissions

Austin GMAT Review offers the best GMAT prep course in Central Texas. Our goal for you, our student, is to not only achieve your best possible GMAT score, but also win admission into the business school of your choice.  Here we offer information and news for prospective GMAT test-takers and MBA candidates.

By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., May 4 2018 03:00PM

GMAC, the maker of the GMAT, has made yet another change to the exam. The GMAT has been shortened by 30 minutes, reducing its total time from four hours to 3.5 hours.


The shorter GMAT seems a reversal from changes in years past, which often added new exam requirements. The original 1954 exam, given on paper, was less than three hours. From the unique Data Sufficiency questions (1961) to the Analytical Writing Assessment (AWA) essays (adding an hour in 1994), the computer adaptive format (1997), and the Integrated Reasoning (IR) section (substituting for one AWA essay in 2012), alterations to the GMAT have often increased its time and difficulty.


Shortening the GMAT would seem to be a step towards simplification – right? Well, yes and no. The shorter GMAT should improve your test-taking experience in one important aspect. However, I also believe that GMAC missed several potential opportunities for improvement.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jul 10 2017 01:00PM

If you took the GMAT on or before July 10, 2017, you took the exam in the following order: Analytical Writing Assessment (AWA), Integrated Reasoning, Quantitative, and Verbal. Today, you have the choice to rearrange the exam sections more in an order to your preference. You may decide to start with the AWA section, or you may choose to begin with the Verbal or Quantitative sections. You will make the section order selection at the test center, just before you start the GMAT, so choose wisely.


The test requires four hours of intense concentration. Your ability to focus may peak anywhere from 30 minutes to 90 minutes, and as fatigue, hunger, or stress sets in, that focus may waiver. This is why I believe that the order of your exam sections might be used as a strategic advantage, if you go in prepared.


Here's my opinion on some simple strategies to adopt (and check back with me in a year, after I get more feedback from my students).


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Nov 11 2016 06:02PM

Happy Veterans Day! My military students sometimes joke that my GMAT course may be tough, but hey, it’s no Ranger School. Having taken on extremely challenging training and circumstances, it’s no surprise that military students and veterans bring dedication and resolve to the not-always-easy pursuit of a high GMAT score. As a teacher, I am proud to serve those who serve our country.


For this Veterans Day, we asked two of our former GMAT students from the U.S. Army – Nicole, a former current operations officer and project manager now studying at Yale School of Management, and Steve, a captain and former company commander who is currently pursuing his MBA at Emory University's Goizueta Business School – to share their advice on pursuing admission to top MBA programs while in the military. Whether you’re in the military or not, I think that their perspectives are of value to all of us.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Nov 11 2015 09:00AM

Happy Veteran’s Day! I consider it to be one of my profession’s highest honors to serve those who serve our country. As a teacher, I am always impressed by the high degree of dedication my military students show in their GMAT studies, and apparently business schools are impressed, too. This year, according to the Military Times, almost 13% of students at MBA programs and other graduate school business programs came from the military.


That said, the MBA admissions process remains incredibly competitive. If you’re applying to business school while still in the military, your two main obstacles may be 1) achieving a high GMAT score in a non-academic environment not conducive to study, and 2) finding the business school that is the right “fit” for your non-business background.


With that in mind, we asked three former military students for their advice on tackling these two challenges.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jul 15 2015 06:58PM

Ginger, my former GMAT student, is headed to UT McCombs School of Business this August to start the Texas MBA program. As she wrote in this Facebook post, for her, time was in short supply: "A working mother of two energetic girls, I knew an MBA would greatly improve my ability to provide for my children while also setting an excellent example for them. But how could I manage studying for the GMAT, prepare the essays and application, and succeed at a demanding job, yet still be the parent I wanted to be? Well, I did it (woo hoo!), so you can, too!"


Here, in her own words, are Ginger's best tips for successfully preparing for the GMAT and applying to a top MBA program while juggling the demands of career and parenting.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Sep 23 2014 04:28PM

“There comes a time when for every addition of knowledge you forget something that you knew before. It is of the highest importance, therefore, not to have useless facts elbowing out the useful ones."


Sherlock Holmes had that right. Preparing for GMAT verbal questions requires ignoring bad advice, unlearning bad habits, and not assuming that you already know all the answers. With that introduction, I present the “Austin GMAT Review Verbal Dogma” – Part II.



By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., May 26 2014 02:00PM

Jamison, an Army officer who will be heading to Wharton for his MBA this year, defeated the GMAT test with a score of 720. I asked Jamison to share his best advice on GMAT prep for military personnel. Below are excerpts from his email to me, written from his plane to Afghanistan.