512.797.9525

Call 512.797.9525 for GMAT course information. Austin GMAT Review

Resources for GMAT Preparation and MBA Admissions

Austin GMAT Review offers the best GMAT prep course in Central Texas. Our goal for you, our student, is to not only achieve your best possible GMAT score, but also win admission into the business school of your choice.  Here we offer information and news for prospective GMAT test-takers and MBA candidates.

By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jan 24 2017 02:00PM

Over the last couple years, the makers of the GMAT have instituted changes making it easier for you, the test-taker, to pick and choose your best GMAT score to send to business schools. Not only that, but you can make a low score disappear by canceling within 72 hours after taking the exam. Due in part to these test changes, the mean total GMAT score for U.S. test-takers rose 10 points in two years, from 532 in 2014 to 542 in 2016.


Last month, however, the GMAT introduced another change – you can now only take the exam eight times overall. If you were planning to take the GMAT for the first or second time, do not take your preparation lightly. Make every attempt count.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Mar 29 2016 04:59PM

After you take the GMAT, you have an important decision to make – accept the GMAT score, or cancel it? You used to have to make the decision in two minutes or less, but as of March 10, 2016, you have a full 72 hours after your test to decide whether to cancel the score. If you cancel the score, it will not appear on your official GMAT score report – not even as a “C” for “Cancel.”


Your choices now are:


2 Minutes After Your Test – With a preview of your GMAT score in front of you, you decide to keep or cancel the score.


Up to 72 Hours After Your Test – If you kept the GMAT score at the test center, you may still cancel your score online (for a small fee).


Up to Four Years and 11 Months After Your Test – If you previously cancelled your GMAT score, you may reinstate your score online (for another fee).


Two years ago, immediately after taking the exam, you would have had to guess what your score might be, and decide to keep or cancel the score right there on the spot. GMAC’s more flexible policy is a significant improvement that should ease some of the pressure on test-takers. That said, I urge you to prepare in advance to make that big decision: Keep or Cancel?


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Feb 24 2016 04:08PM

Since 1996, the GMAT scores at Top 10 business schools have risen by 58 points, on the average. Is that escalation likely to continue, or are we nearing the end of the ride? I believe it's the latter. Here are some reasons that the factors that have pushed up GMAT scores are beginning to lose steam.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Feb 2 2016 05:08PM

When I started Austin GMAT Review in 2008, I urged my students to study hard and break into “The 700 Club.” Today, the goals are higher. Although a 700 GMAT score will still open doors at most business schools, for the schools that regularly appear at the top of the rankings, 720+ would be better.


For you who are just starting out your GMAT studies with your eye on a Top 10 school, this is probably daunting news. The GMAT is already a high-stakes exam without additional pressure. In this article, I take a look at the trends that have pushed GMAT averages up and up and up.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Mar 4 2015 05:37PM

It was 2012. The GMAT Integrated Reasoning (GMAT IR) section had just been launched to much fanfare by GMAC (the makers of the GMAT). Many test takers had rushed to take the exam before the GMAT IR was officially introduced: they feared trying to take on an unknown factor in the already rigorous test.


Then, one influential business school came right out and said … Don’t worry about it.






By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jan 22 2015 05:53PM

In my last post, I looked back at 2014, and predicted the trends that will affect business schools and MBA applicants in 2015. In this post, I continue to put my psychic powers to the test.


July: The Official Guide for GMAT® Review 2015 came out in 2014.


A book released ahead of its time, the OG14 was actually behind its time: the content was identical to the OG13 released in 2012. (It did offer you an online quiz, though.)




By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jan 14 2015 10:00AM

Business school admissions will tell you that the past is a predictor of future performance. So, without further ado, let’s take a look back at what b-schools were doing in 2014, and see what we can predict for 2015.


January: The GMAT score arms race kicked off early.


Business schools that attract people with high GMAT scores produce MBAs who are the most highly compensated later in their careers. This was the proposition put forth by Jonathan Wai, a research scientist at Duke University, who then listed and ranked business schools by their average GMAT scores. The business school with the highest average GMAT score? Stanford.




By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Nov 4 2014 07:55PM

With few exceptions, the average GMAT score at top business schools has been slowly creeping up. Here are a few GMAT averages from the Class of 2016: Stanford, 732 average GMAT score, +2 points from 2011. Harvard, 726, +2. Wharton, 728, +8. Chicago Booth, 724, +5. NYU Stern, 721, +2. Kellogg, 717, +3. MIT Sloan, 713, +3. It’s not surprising that the anxiety levels of GMAT test-takers have also risen, and aren’t always relieved when that highly important score appears at the end of the test.


The question: Should I retake the GMAT? The answer: Maybe. Given the time that it takes to prepare for the GMAT exam and apply to schools, the decision to retake the GMAT is not made on a coin toss. Here are seven questions to consider – the answers will help you decide.