512.797.9525

Call 512.797.9525 for GMAT course information. Austin GMAT Review

Resources for GMAT Preparation and MBA Admissions

Austin GMAT Review offers the best GMAT prep course in Central Texas. Our goal for you, our student, is to not only achieve your best possible GMAT score, but also win admission into the business school of your choice.  Here we offer information and news for prospective GMAT test-takers and MBA candidates.

By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Oct 10 2018 07:42PM

Elaine Conces, our VP of Graduate Programs, is looking forward to talking with our GMAT students about what they can look forward to after they take their exams. She will discuss how to prepare a better MBA application, and some strategies to follow. Here are some of the questions that we'll cover:


How is your GMAT score viewed by schools?


How can you prepare your best essays and interviews?


What should you put in your resume? And what doesn't go in?


How should you coach your recommenders (and remain in the ethical lines)?


What can you do to stand out from the crowd?


This event is open only to students of Austin GMAT Review and Austin Elite Prep for the GRE. Please RSVP to your professor in advance or contact us.

By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jul 3 2018 06:39PM

When you are studying hard for the GMAT, one way to motivate yourself through those long hours of study is to get out once in a while to meet your target schools. Whether you are planning to apply to one of our top-rated Texas business schools, or hope to go to another region or country altogether, you can start close to home. Many admissions events are hosted in Texas throughout the year. By making connections with members of the admissions teams, students, and alumni, you'll be taking a giant step towards your future in business school.


So, what are you waiting for? Take the leap!


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Oct 17 2017 06:13PM

You are taking GMAT classes, and you’re completely focused on achieving a high GMAT score. Great! … However, I recommend that you also take time to attend MBA admissions events and information sessions in your area.


Here I offer a few tips for MBA admissions events provided by Elaine Conces, our VP of Graduate Programs, to not only help you make a good impression on the admissions gatekeepers, but also help you improve your applications. MBA events offer valuable opportunities to talk with admissions officers about their programs, so make the most of these rare occasions.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Sep 27 2017 03:53PM

After you take the GMAT and achieve a solid score, it’s time to begin completing applications for your target business schools – including rounding up the people who will write your recommendation letters.


Admissions Committees want to hear from your current or former boss, and usually someone else who has observed you from a managerial standpoint. It’s never easy to start a conversation with, “Um, Boss, I am going to leave the company, and I would love for you to write the recommendation that allows me to do so.” Even if you have a supportive manager, or you plan to return, or you’re pursuing a part-time or executive-level program, you are still asking a big favor.


In the past, if you were applying to more than one business school, you had to ask an even bigger favor – “Will you write multiple recommendations for me?” Each school asked similar but different questions of recommenders, and often with different word counts and restrictions. One school might allow an entire recommendation letter to be submitted, while another might restrict the recommender to online boxes with strict word counts. ... That was then, but luckily for you, this is now.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jun 6 2017 04:52PM

It’s time to suit up and go out to meet school representatives. The good news is that MBA admissions teams are traveling to Texas cities this summer. The bad news is that fewer out-of-state schools seem to be making Texas a destination this year. Take advantage of every opportunity to make connections.


While getting a great GMAT score helps demonstrate that you’re ready for rigorous classes, meeting school representatives is a good way to show them that you’re a class act all the way.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jun 15 2016 04:36PM

In the race to apply to business school, summer is the time to shift into high gear. You may feel like the checkered flag just waved as you cruise out of the GMAT testing center - especially if you glided past a 700 - but you are not at the finish. If you haven't yet researched your schools and how they fit with your candidacy and career goals, then consider that a black flag. Time to pull over and figure out where you're going.


Let me put it this way: What is the point of racing to complete a school's application by Round 1 or Round 2, only to find out that you are on the wrong racetrack ... that the program cannot deliver what you seek to achieve your goals?


Luckily for you, MBA admissions teams from all over the world stop in Texas as part of their own race to recruit the best and the brightest. Below are some the events where you may meet with business school representatives and find out about their programs.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Feb 24 2016 04:08PM

Since 1996, the GMAT scores at Top 10 business schools have risen by 58 points, on the average. Is that escalation likely to continue, or are we nearing the end of the ride? I believe it's the latter. Here are some reasons that the factors that have pushed up GMAT scores are beginning to lose steam.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Feb 2 2016 05:08PM

When I started Austin GMAT Review in 2008, I urged my students to study hard and break into “The 700 Club.” Today, the goals are higher. Although a 700 GMAT score will still open doors at most business schools, for the schools that regularly appear at the top of the rankings, 720+ would be better.


For you who are just starting out your GMAT studies with your eye on a Top 10 school, this is probably daunting news. The GMAT is already a high-stakes exam without additional pressure. In this article, I take a look at the trends that have pushed GMAT averages up and up and up.