512.797.9525

Call 512.797.9525 for GMAT course information. Austin GMAT Review

Resources for GMAT Preparation and MBA Admissions

Austin GMAT Review offers the best GMAT prep course in Central Texas. Our goal for you, our student, is to not only achieve your best possible GMAT score, but also win admission into the business school of your choice.  Here we offer information and news for prospective GMAT test-takers and MBA candidates.

By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Oct 10 2018 07:42PM

Elaine Conces, our VP of Graduate Programs, is looking forward to talking with our GMAT students about what they can look forward to after they take their exams. She will discuss how to prepare a better MBA application, and some strategies to follow. Here are some of the questions that we'll cover:


How is your GMAT score viewed by schools?


How can you prepare your best essays and interviews?


What should you put in your resume? And what doesn't go in?


How should you coach your recommenders (and remain in the ethical lines)?


What can you do to stand out from the crowd?


This event is open only to students of Austin GMAT Review and Austin Elite Prep for the GRE. Please RSVP to your professor in advance or contact us.

By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jul 3 2018 06:39PM

When you are studying hard for the GMAT, one way to motivate yourself through those long hours of study is to get out once in a while to meet your target schools. Whether you are planning to apply to one of our top-rated Texas business schools, or hope to go to another region or country altogether, you can start close to home. Many admissions events are hosted in Texas throughout the year. By making connections with members of the admissions teams, students, and alumni, you'll be taking a giant step towards your future in business school.


So, what are you waiting for? Take the leap!


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Oct 17 2017 06:13PM

You are taking GMAT classes, and you’re completely focused on achieving a high GMAT score. Great! … However, I recommend that you also take time to attend MBA admissions events and information sessions in your area.


Here I offer a few tips for MBA admissions events provided by Elaine Conces, our VP of Graduate Programs, to not only help you make a good impression on the admissions gatekeepers, but also help you improve your applications. MBA events offer valuable opportunities to talk with admissions officers about their programs, so make the most of these rare occasions.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jun 6 2017 04:52PM

It’s time to suit up and go out to meet school representatives. The good news is that MBA admissions teams are traveling to Texas cities this summer. The bad news is that fewer out-of-state schools seem to be making Texas a destination this year. Take advantage of every opportunity to make connections.


While getting a great GMAT score helps demonstrate that you’re ready for rigorous classes, meeting school representatives is a good way to show them that you’re a class act all the way.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jun 15 2016 04:36PM

In the race to apply to business school, summer is the time to shift into high gear. You may feel like the checkered flag just waved as you cruise out of the GMAT testing center - especially if you glided past a 700 - but you are not at the finish. If you haven't yet researched your schools and how they fit with your candidacy and career goals, then consider that a black flag. Time to pull over and figure out where you're going.


Let me put it this way: What is the point of racing to complete a school's application by Round 1 or Round 2, only to find out that you are on the wrong racetrack ... that the program cannot deliver what you seek to achieve your goals?


Luckily for you, MBA admissions teams from all over the world stop in Texas as part of their own race to recruit the best and the brightest. Below are some the events where you may meet with business school representatives and find out about their programs.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., May 24 2016 01:46PM

According to GMAC (maker of the GMAT), 29% of people who plan to apply to full-time MBA programs have one goal in mind: to become an entrepreneur.* Victor, a former Austin GMAT Review student, is one of these. Victor is in the midst of a career transition – he recently left his role as military commander at Fort Hood and is preparing to attend Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business this fall, in order to pursue his entrepreneurial ambitions.


Before leaving for business school, Victor attended this year’s Rice Business Plan Competition (RBPC), known as “the world’s richest and largest graduate-level student startup competition.” Hosted by the Rice Alliance for Technology and Entrepreneurship and Jones Graduate School of Business at Rice University in Houston, the RBPC drew 42 student teams from all over the world to compete for about $1.5 million in cash and prizes over three days in April.


Says Victor: “I wanted to observe as many startup teams as possible pitch their plans. I wanted to see it all: the good, the bad, the ugly. I’ve spent most of the last nine years in various management and operations positions in the U.S. Army. How will my skills and experience benefit my team and me during my career as an entrepreneur? What are common characteristics amongst good/bad teams? These are a few of the questions that I hoped to begin to answer.” In this blog post, Victor shares what he learned at the startup competition for all of you future MBA-entrepreneurs.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Sep 11 2015 05:57PM

If you’re heading for Round 2 MBA application deadlines, take a quick detour from your GMAT studies to run over to an MBA admissions event in Austin, Houston, or Dallas. These events can be excellent opportunities to meet admissions officers and alumni, and hear more about their MBA programs.


I’ve listed some of the upcoming MBA admissions events below. Once autumn is over, and admissions officers head back to campus to review applications and interview candidates, there will be fewer opportunities to meet with them in Texas until the next recruiting season. So, just go!



By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jun 11 2015 12:05AM

First things first – work on getting that great GMAT score this summer. That said, now is also a great time to connect with the business schools to which you intend to apply. MBA admissions events are an excellent way for you to warm up to a school's MBA program, or decide that another school is not for you.


Many MBA admissions teams take advantage of the summer to kick off their recruitment efforts, and Texas is increasingly a hot destination (figuratively and literally). Below are some of the opportunities available for you to meet business school representatives in Texas.