512.797.9525

Call 512.797.9525 for GMAT course information. Austin GMAT Review

Resources for GMAT Preparation and MBA Admissions

Austin GMAT Review offers the best GMAT prep course in Central Texas. Our goal for you, our student, is to not only achieve your best possible GMAT score, but also win admission into the business school of your choice.  Here we offer information and news for prospective GMAT test-takers and MBA candidates.

By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Apr 16 2020 01:55AM


I am happy to announce that GMAC, the maker of the GMAT, is now offering the GMAT Online exam. With the threat of COVID-19 continuing, the GMAT Online is an interim solution, proctored remotely, and intended to help you complete your GMAT in time to meet business school deadlines. Currently, for the online option, GMAT exam date availability is only from April 20, 2020 to July 17, 2020.


GMAT Online does have many differences from the regular exam, and some of those differences may pose significant obstacles. In this article, I outline for you the GMAT Online's requirements and testing experience.



By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Mar 13 2020 09:55PM

Recently, the threat of coronavirus has impelled some major Texas universities to end in-person classes and move instruction online. Out of an abundance of caution, we at Austin GMAT Review have decided to do the same.


Therefore, as of Monday, March 16, 2020, we will conduct our GMAT classes live online until further notice.


As the situation continues to change rapidly, our top priority is the health, safety, and well-being of our students as well as maintaining the same exceptional quality of instruction. This is the first time since we established Austin GMAT Review in 2008 that we have had to go online. We greatly appreciate the assistance and understanding of our students as we make this transition.


Sincerely,


Dr. Ajay Amar

Founder & President of Austin GMAT Review


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jun 11 2019 03:57PM

“Time is money,” said Benjamin Franklin. He also said, “An investment in knowledge pays the best interest,” and when that investment requires only your time (and maybe the effort of looking presentable), what could be better?


If you’re going to apply to business schools this year, invest your time wisely. Brush off your business suit, and take the time to meet the admissions teams who are traveling to Texas. You’ll get a better idea of what the admissions officers seek in candidates, how to improve your applications, and what the strengths of each school are, as well as gaining valuable contacts. These opportunities typically come only once a year (if at all), so don’t let them pass you by.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., May 14 2019 07:14PM

In 2015, most U.S. business schools (57%) had happily received more applications – primarily for full-time MBA programs – than the year before, a growth trend that they had enjoyed since 2011. Then came 2016, and the trend reversed. By 2018, 70% of U.S. business schools were reporting application declines, and applications nationwide were down 6.6%.


I wondered: Was the pool of quality applicants drying up? Would the slump in applications slow or reverse the relentless rise of GMAT averages?


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Apr 30 2019 09:51PM

When my student Lanette came to my GMAT course, she had been out of school for almost 20 years. Having extensive bookkeeping experience, Lanette hoped to be accepted to the top-ranked Masters in Public Accounting (MPA) program at the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas - Austin. However, she hadn’t had a math class since college. Lanette hadn’t taken a practice GMAT exam (“out of fear,” she said), but she guessed that her score would be about 450. She had just two months to prepare for the GMAT in time for the school’s application deadline, so yes, she was serious.


Today, Lanette holds an MPA from McCombs, is a CPA, and is a successful tax accountant. How did she get the GMAT score that launched her on a major career transition?


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Jul 3 2018 06:39PM

When you are studying hard for the GMAT, one way to motivate yourself through those long hours of study is to get out once in a while to meet your target schools. Whether you are planning to apply to one of our top-rated Texas business schools, or hope to go to another region or country altogether, you can start close to home. Many admissions events are hosted in Texas throughout the year. By making connections with members of the admissions teams, students, and alumni, you'll be taking a giant step towards your future in business school.


So, what are you waiting for? Take the leap!


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., May 4 2018 03:00PM

GMAC, the maker of the GMAT, has made yet another change to the exam. The GMAT has been shortened by 30 minutes, reducing its total time from four hours to 3.5 hours.


The shorter GMAT seems a reversal from changes in years past, which often added new exam requirements. The original 1954 exam, given on paper, was less than three hours. From the unique Data Sufficiency questions (1961) to the Analytical Writing Assessment (AWA) essays (adding an hour in 1994), the computer adaptive format (1997), and the Integrated Reasoning (IR) section (substituting for one AWA essay in 2012), alterations to the GMAT have often increased its time and difficulty.


Shortening the GMAT would seem to be a step towards simplification – right? Well, yes and no. The shorter GMAT should improve your test-taking experience in one important aspect. However, I also believe that GMAC missed several potential opportunities for improvement.


By Ajay Amar, Ph.D., Oct 17 2017 06:13PM

You are taking GMAT classes, and you’re completely focused on achieving a high GMAT score. Great! … However, I recommend that you also take time to attend MBA admissions events and information sessions in your area.


Here I offer a few tips for MBA admissions events provided by Elaine Conces, our VP of Graduate Programs, to not only help you make a good impression on the admissions gatekeepers, but also help you improve your applications. MBA events offer valuable opportunities to talk with admissions officers about their programs, so make the most of these rare occasions.


Trending Business School News

 

 

 

 

 

50+ Hours of

Serious GMAT Prep

for Top Business Schools

Live Online

 

 

 

 

Find Out More